The Stunning Backdrop to The Folly Festival
Cullohill Castle was built around the year 1425, and though it is not certain, it was most probably constructed by Finghin MacGillapatrick.
The castle eportedly came under attack on several occasions by the “sovereign and citizens of Kilkenny” under reward from King Henry VI. Such attacks were reported in 1441 and 1517, as outlined in The history and antiquities of the diocese of Ossory (Volume 2), by Canon Carrigan.
It was attacked and partially destroyed by Cromwell‘s forces around 1650. It was probably attacked by cannon from a nearby hill.
It was recorded as “ruinous and uninhabitated” in 1657.
It is a tower-house rising to five storeys. Most of the northern portion, including the doorway, is missing. It is vaulted above the ground floor and has mural passages and chambers. A straight mural stairway rises to the upper levels. There are remains of mullioned windows at the higher floors of the castle.
The castle has a Sheela na Gig mounted on the outer wall behind the chimney.
Across the road lies the ruins of its chapel which was the private chapel of the Catholic lords of Upper Ossory.
Source – Wikipedia